LG Polls: Oyo PDP Commences Local Government Campaign, Welcomes Defectors from APC, LP, SDP, NNPP


The Oyo State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has officially commenced its campaign for the forthcoming local government election in the Akinyele/Lagelu federal constituency ahead of the April 27th local government election with a terrific outing. The ceremony included the symbolic presentation of the party flags to the PDP chairmanship candidates for Akinyele, Hon. Wole Akinleye and Lagelu, Hon. Kamorudeen Mudashiru Morenikeji.

The State Deputy chairman who represented the Chairman of the Party, Hon James Olukunle said the PDP is the party to beat in Oyo State seeing how the people still identify with the party in Oyo State.

However, he charged the people to come out in their large numbers on election day to replicate the massive outing of today at the poll.

In his address to the enthusiastic crowd, the party’s Secretary, Alhaji Wasiu Adeleke, commended the party members and supporters for the massive turnout and expressed confidence in securing victory in the April 27 local government poll.

The secretary also took a swipe at the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC), highlighting their lack of campaign activities and rallies in the state. He emphasized the rejection of the APC by the people of Oyo State due to perceived hardships under the APC-led federal government since 2015.

A significant moment occurred as several prominent individuals and leaders from the APC made a strategic move to join the PDP in Oyo State. Led by Baba Adewale (Gbafun Ẹ) and Hon. Suraj, the defectors signaled a notable shift in political alliances as they embraced the PDP.

The commencement of the local government campaign in Akinyele/Lagelu not only set the stage for an intense electoral contest but also highlighted the changing political landscape and dynamics within Oyo State.

Leading the campaign was Hon. Segun Olayiwola, the Campaign Coordinator for Ibadan Less City Local Governments, alongside Chief. Benedict Akika, the coordinator for Akinyele/Lagelu federal constituency. The presence of key working committee members such as Hon. James Olukunle, State Deputy Chairman, and Hon. Mufutau Ogunremi, Vice Chairman of Oyo Central, Alhaji Wasiu Adeleke, Alhaja Wulemat Ibitoye, Hon. Dayo Opatokun and Hon. Micheal Ogunsina and Hon. Okewusi Aduke added momentum to the event.

The event attracted notable personalities and government officials which include Baba Oribayo Okeyode, Engr. Julius Akinsola, Baba Akin Aderibigbe, Hon. Akintunde Olajide (AKT, Chief Whip, Oyo State House of Assembly), Hon. Ramata Agberemi (SS.A. Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters), Hon. Tiamy Abiodun (S.A. Education Intervention), Hon. Victor Olojede (S.S.A. Students Affairs), Hon. Abideen Tokunbo Adeaga (Chairman CSDA), Hon. Babatunde Tijani (Double T) and a host of other eminent leaders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *