Oyo 2023: Why Adelabu’s Name Is Missing On INEC List


Sources close to Adebayo Adelabu have told newsmen that his name will be included in an updated list to be released by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

People, especially keen watchers of political events, had early Sunday morning expressed mixed reaction following the non-inclusion of the names of the former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria in the list of governorship candidates in Oyo State.

Adelabu, ditched the All Progressives Congress, APC, for Accord.

The source, who begged not to be named as he was not authorized to speak, explained that his name not included in the list was normal, adding that “his name can only come in through the substitution window. This is God’s own project, don’t bother yourself. Let’s wait till the end. Good morning.”

This newspaper recalls that Sunday Punch had published names of 15 persons contesting the seat out of the 18 political parties enlisted to participate in the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission in Oyo State had on Friday displayed the list of the governorship, deputy governorship and House of Assembly candidates at its headquarters in Ibadan.

The list of the governorship candidates published included state Governor, Seyi Makinde, who is running for second term in office on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party; Folarin Teslim of the All Progressive Congress, Popoola Joshua of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, Ajekigbe Olaniyi of Action Alliance, Agbomeji Olamide of Young Progressive Party and Agboyega Raymond of National Rescue Movement.

Others were Ajadi Ganiyu of the Democratic Congress, Sadiq Adigun of the Labour Party, Okunade Adeyemi of Boot Party, Okedara Mojeed of African Action Congress, Yakubu Adekunle of Social Democratic Party, Adeniran Oluwaseye of Allied Peoples Movement, Adeshina Excel of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, Yusuf Adebola of Action Democratic Party, Yinusa Ayandoye of Action Peoples Party,

In a statement signed by its Administrative Secretary, Biodun Amosu, the commission stated that the new list, which contained the personal particulars of the candidates, was published on the premises of the commission for public scrutiny.

Amosu, however, appealed to the public to seize the opportunity to scrutinise the particulars of candidates, stressing that they could also seek judicial remedy for any observed violation of the law as provided in Section 29 of the Electoral Act 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *