LG Elections: Oyo SDP To Participate, Urges OYSIEC To Reduce Cost of Forms

Social Democratic Party (SDP), Oyo State chapter has called on the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) to consider a downward review of the cost of purchase of forms for contestants into councillorship and chairmanship positions in the forthcoming council elections.

This is as the party also expressed its willingness and readiness to participate in the scheduled May 15 local government elections in the 33 council areas of the state.

The decisions form part of the resolutions reached at a meeting of the party leaders and elders which held at the Yemetu state party secretariat, Ibadan.

A communique issued and signed by the Mr Ajeniyi Ajewole and Mr Niyi Akambi, state Acting Chairman and Secretary respectively also caution Mr Ayankola Ayangbenle from parading himself as the party leader, noting that the party in the state remains one and without any faction.

The communique reads in part “That Mr Ayankola Ayangbenle was just a coordinator of a local government in Ibadan less city who defected to work for another party during the last election, which means that he and his cohorts worked against the party in the state.

“That Ayangbenle is not the state party chairman, the party Acting Chairman remains Mr Ajeniyi Ajewole.

“That Dr Agunloye should not interfere in the Oyo state executives, we can handle our state.”

“The party encourages all aspirants within its fold to purchase their forms from the Yemetu party secretariat alone.

“That we should partake in the coming local government election.

“That the OYSIEC should reduce the amount for obtaining form for candidate for the election.

“That we all agreed that all transaction from the public should be directed to the party secretariat in the state.

“That the constitution is explicit on elective posts, the constitution forbids anybody claiming any position outside the congress, hence Mr Ayangbenle is on his own and he is not the state chairman of the party.

“That there was no congress after that of 2018 that ushered in Barrister Ajewole Ajeniyi as the Vice Chairman and who eventually became the acting chairman after the suspension of Mr Kola Balogun.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.